Nigeria's Super Falcons Have Qualified For The 2018 Africa Women Cup Of Nations

Since the inception of the Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) in 1991, Nigeria has won the tournament a record 10 times. Now, the country is getting another shot at the continental trophy, having qualified for the 2018 edition set to hold in Ghana.

FT: Nigeria 6-0 Gambia (7-0 agg)

Reiging champions Super Falcons have qualified for the 2018 African Women's Cup of Nations which will be held in Ghana in November which will serve as the chase 3 African teams to the 2019 @FIFAWWC #SoarSuperFalcons #AWCON2018Q

— NGSuper_Falcons (@NGSuper_Falcons) June 11, 2018

The Super Falcons qualified on a 7-0 aggregate by beating The Gambia 1-0 in their home, and 6-0 in Lagos.

With four goals to her name, Desire Oparanozie was the star player at the second qualifying round in Lagos on Monday. Asisat Oshoala scored two more goals, ensuring The Gambia was convinced about Nigeria’s superiority.

In addition to Nigeria, the 2018 AWCON will feature Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Algeria, South Africa, Zambia, Mali and the host, Ghana. Based on past records, South Africa and Cameroon are Nigeria’s biggest opponents. So, when it comes to these teams, the Super Falcons will have their work cut out for them as they attempt to win the trophy for the eleventh time.


— modovictor (@modovictorekene) June 11, 2018

view more articles

About Article Author

Chuka (Webby) Aniemeka
Chuka (Webby) Aniemeka

Chuka is an experienced certified web developer with an extensive background in computer science and 18+ years in web design & development. His previous experience ranges from redesigning existing website to solving complex technical problems with object-oriented programming. Very experienced with Microsoft SQL Server, PHP and advanced JavaScript. He loves to travel and watch movies.

View More Articles

Latest Nigeria News