Search Site: OnlineNigeria



Posted by on 1/30/2003 12:39:51 PM



Historical Development: Imo State is one of the seven states created by the Federal Military Government on February 3,1976 during the MohammedObasanjo regime.

The Asumpta Cathedral, Owerri
The Asumpta Cathedral, Owerri

Hitherto, the area known as tmo State was part of the defunct East Central State which was one of the twelve states initially created by the Federal Military Government (General Yakubu Gowon's regime) in 1967.

With the creation of more states in 1991 by General lbrahim Babangida, Abia State was carved out from Imo State. The new Imo State is divided into twentyseven local governments areas (LGAs), and three senatorial zones .

Administrative Structure: Like other states of the federation, the administrative structure of the state is threetiered state, local and autonomous community levels. At the state level, it is composed of three arms the Executive, the Legislative and the Judiciary.

The executive arm is headed by an elected Governor who is assisted by a deputy gov ernor, commissioners and executive advisers. The legislative arm, headed by the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, is made up of elected legisla tors; it is the lawmaking body of the state.

The judiciary is charged with the responsibility of the administration of justice and is headed by the Chief Judge of the state. Functions of the government are carried out through the various ministries and parastatals.

The ministries are: Justice, Agriculture and Natural Resources, Education, Health, Commerce, Industry and Tourism, Finance, Works and Transport. There are four new directorates for Information and Culture; Land, Survey and Urban Planning; Social Development, Youth and Sports and Rural Development.

The Office of the Secretary to the State Government is the official secretariat of the state government and is headed by the Secretary to the State Government. It coordinates the activities of the various ministries, directorates and extra ministerial departments.

Each local government is headed by a chair man, assisted by a deputy chairman and supervi sory councillors, who make up the executive arm. The Local Government legislative arm is composed of ten to twelve elected ward counsellors from each local government area, headed by a Speaker of the LGA, while the Judiciary is represented by one customary court in each LGA, headed by a Chairman.

At the community level, the autonomous communities are headed by traditional rulers called Ezes, who in turn have their own cabinet of appointed chiefs and titled men.

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!