Wyclef Jean

April 21, 2017

Wyclef Jean (born October 17, 1972 in Croix-des-Bouquets, Haïti) is an American rapper, producer, and member of the superstar hip hop trio The Fugees, known now for a series of high-profile hit singles.

Jean moved to Brooklyn, New York when he was nine, then to Northern New Jersey, where he began playing the guitar and studying jazz in his high school. In 1987, Jean, his friend (so close they told people they were cousins growing up) Prakazrel Michel (Pras) and his classmate, Lauryn Hill, formed a group called the Tranzlator Crew before becoming The Fugees. Wyclef worked as a cabdriver.

Recently he has been finding success as a collaborator – with his turn on Shakira’s 2006 track ‘Hips Don’t Lie’ hitting number one in many countries around the world.

READ ALSO:   Taylor Townsend (Tennis)

In August of 2010, Jean announced his intent to seek the presidency of Haiti. This move came after his increasingly-high profile humanitarian work in the wake of the earthquake that devastated that nation.

Top Tracks

  • Perfect Gentleman
  • Gone Till November
  • 911
  • Wish You Were Here
  • Guantanamera
  • Sweetest Girl (Dollar Bill)
  • Dance Like this
  • Divine Sorrow
  • Sweetest Girl
  • Heaven’s In New York

Recommended For You

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.